Contact Us | CareersSite Map   
Business & Industry Information Centre Inside the Market Media Desk
Expand All [+]
Collapse All [–]
Home About The IESO Market Data News and Calendars Markets and Programs Services The Power Grid Stakeholder Initiatives Documents Market Oversight

Dispute Resolution Panel

The Dispute Resolution Panel mediates and arbitrates disputes regarding the application and interpretation of the Market Rules by the IESO and disputes that arise between Market Participants, including the IESO.

Dr. Richard Beifuss - Secretary
Dr. Richard Beifuss has more than thirty years’ experience within Canadian industry as an engineering consultant (employee and partner), and in its governmental civil service as a manager of technical resources (electrical), project manager, technical expert, program manager and director. He developed guidelines on project management and quality control for Public Works Canada. He has extensive expertise in alternative (appropriate) dispute resolution in diverse claims (marine, transportation, buildings and real property management). As Director of Contract Claims Management, he co-designed and implemented Public Works’ Contract Disputes Advisory Board (still used by PWGSC and the TD Bank) on behalf of the Minister. He is a speaker and lecturer to groups (national and international) on ADR and Contract Claims Management and Avoidance, and a designer and lecturer on arbitration for Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada and University of Waterloo (Conrad Grebel College), Waterloo, Ontario, Canada for which he obtained accreditation from the ADR Institute of Ontario.  ADR Institute Canada- Arbitration Course Educator / Examiner Final Exam. Vice President Education ADR Institute of Ontario ADR Institute Canada - Arbitration Course Educator / Examiner Final Exam. Vice President Education ADR Institute of Ontario. Commerce Clearing House (CCH) ADR FORUM The Canadian Journal of Dispute Resolution-Contributing Columnist  ADR Dispute Resolution Practice Manual - Co-Author.

Members of the Dispute Resolution Panel include:

  • Dr. Richard Beifuss
  • Mr. Mel Matthias
  • Mr. Ken Selby
  • Mr. Paul Walters
  • Mr. Hal Wilkinson

All dispute resolution documents must be filed with the Secretary at the following address:

Secretary, Dispute Resolution Panel
655 Bay Street
Suite 410
P.O. Box 1
Toronto, Ontario
M5G 2K4
Fax: 416-506-2838

Copyright © 2019 Independent Electricity System Operator